Newsletter – November 2016

Two of the planned 50th Anniversary events took place in October and both were extremely well supported and successful, both on and off the rinks.


The Jubilee Match, against a team comprising our “Friends” took place on Sunday, 9th October 2016 and this was followed by an Invitation Match against the EIBA on Sunday 16th October 2016.


The 16th October was the anniversary, to the day, of the official opening of the Indoor Bowling Rinks and we were pleased to welcome many guests, who have, over the years, been actively involved with and ardent supporters of the Club.


The day was further enhanced by a visit from our Prime Minister, Theresa May, who honoured us with her presence over the tea break!


On Wednesday, 30th November 2016 the Club will host a Jubilee Club Day which will be open to all members. Refreshments will be provided and we look forward to welcoming as many members as possible to join with us in celebrating the Jubilee year.


The “Captain’s” Evening, held on Tuesday 11th October 2016, was well attended and the proposals, made by members, at that meeting, were then discussed at the Indoor Management Meeting held on the 27th October.

The changes recommended and agreed at the Indoor Committee, have now been documented and copies of the proposals are displayed on the Club notice boards.


Last Saturday, 5th November was a very successful day for our teams in National Competitions – The ladies won their Yetton Trophy heat v’s Rivermead by 80-56. Next round against Egham on November 19th.


Also on Saturday, the men fared similarly in the Denny Cup heat v’s Handy Cross, winning 77-55 and now go forward to play West Berks, also on the 19th November.


Well done and good luck to all in the next round.


The friendly matches played over the last 4 weeks resulted in Desborough winning home games against: Preston IBC, Bucks VPs, Glebelands and Southampton Old Green, with only one loss away at Herga IBC in Harrow.


The Indoor Committee membership has been reviewed and recommendations for change have been discussed, agreed and implemented, namely:- In the short term, the composition of the Indoor Committee has changed to make it more inclusive and representative of the indoor members’ views.

The Indoor Committee, going forward, will therefore comprise the following members:-

Chair-John Bucknell,

Secretary-Roger Wyatt

Members– Michael White, Gill O’Neill, Iain Burns, Doreen Lovering, Len Essex, Bruce Adams, Linda Eumorfopoulos, Kim Eales and Terry Davies.


Relocation Update

We are on target for, site works to commence March 2017 and a completion date of February /March 2018.


Further consultations are planned, with members, to help in finalising the detailed designs for bowling facilities and also any other activities that may be made available to members in the new Club.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.