Press Report – September 10, 2018

In an interesting finals weekend, it produced two champions, one old and one new. In the Men’s Championship the title holder Tony Devonald-Batt had to succumb to a previous winner, Mark Peachey, who won 21-12. In the Ladies Championship, Eileen Gill held her nerve to beat County bowler, Gina Braddock, winning 21-15.


Two bowlers retained their titles. Geoff Lofthouse overcame Michael White in the Over 70s singles and Gina Braddock beat Gill O’Neill in the Ladies Two Wood singles. Gina was also successful in the Drawn Pairs with Sylvia Laban and the Drawn Triples with Maureen O’Reilly and Val Wyatt. Although Gill O’Neill was unsuccessful in the Two Wood, she made up for it by winning the Handicap Singles, Over 60s Singles and Mixed Drawn Handicap Pairs with Michael White. The latter also won the Mixed Nominated Pairs with Ryda Eyre who was substituting for his wife Val.


The reign of John Stenson, Ron James and Brian Jones in the Benevolent Triples came to an end as they were beaten by Bruce Adams, Graeme Mason and Alan May. Ray Weaver did the double as he won the Open Handicap Singles and the Men’s Handicap Singles. Peter Braddock was also a double winner as he beat the defending champion Barry Gill to win the Two Wood Singles and the Drawn Pairs with Dave Hasler.


The novice titles went to Pauline Tuttle and Mike Whittingham.






Championship    Eileen Gill 21  Gina Braddock 15

Novice.          Pauline Tuttle 21 Maureen O’Reilly 12

Handicap.        Gill O’Neill 21  Pauline Tuttle 8

Two Wood.       Gina Braddock 16 Gill O’Neill 13

Over 60s.         Gill O’Neill 21 Maureen O’Reilly 17

Drawn Pairs.      Gina Braddock Sylvia Laban 27

Pauline Tuttle Eileen Gill 19

Drawn Triples     Maureen O’Reilly Val Wyatt Gina Braddock 27

Carole Tupling Jenny Bosley Doreen Lovering 8

Mixed H’cap Pairs Gill O’Neill Michael White 26

Mary Martin Ken Hazell  18

Mixed Pairs.      Ryda Eyre Michael White 18

Maureen O’Reilly Mike Whittingham 16

Open Singles.     Ray Weaver 21 Peter Braddock 10






Championship     Mark Peachey 21 Tony Devonald-Batt 12

Novice.           Mike Whittingham 21 Paul Patel 16

Handicap.         Ray Weaver 21 Paul Winstanley 17

Two Wood         Peter Braddock 16 Barry Gill 11

Over 70s.          Geoff Lofthouse 21 Michael White 17

Drawn Pairs.       Peter Braddock Dave Hasler 17

John Brampton Paul Winstanley 16

Benevolent Triples  Bruce Adams Graeme Mason Alan May 19

John Stenson Ron James Brian Jones 11



Desborough welcomed Flackwell Heath to York Road and were generous hosts as they let the visitors win by 14 shots, although the 6 rinks were shared so it could be declared a honourable draw. The rinks skipped by Dave Wagner and

Brian Jones returned winning scorecards but they had to concede top rink honours to Ann Vaughan, Nicola Jones, Paul Patel and Tony Buckley.


Rink scores

K Spracklen, E Gill, D Griggs, D Wagner   21-13

P Tuttle, R Turner, J Stenson, B Jones.   18-13

C Tupling, J Bosley, J Bucknell, B Gill.    10-26

A Vaughan, N Jones, P Patel, T Buckley.  29-17

R Eyre, K Coles, C Crunden, J Stannard   17-22

P Arnott, J MacPherson, J Roll, B Wright.  9-27

Picture: Champions Mark Peachey and Eileen Gill

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.